IE Medication Events Implementation Guide
0.1.0 - Nostalgic IE (draft)
IE Medication Events Implementation Guide - Local Development build (v0.1.0) built by the FHIR (HL7® FHIR® Standard) Build Tools. See the Directory of published versions
Requires Clarification. These are the points where the HIQA draft ePrescription and eDispensation standard (September 2026), or the other authoritative sources available to this proof of concept, do not settle what this IG should do. Nothing here is invented: where the IG needs a value in the meantime it uses a clearly named placeholder and points back to this list.
Items that the HIQA draft, or other authoritative sources available to this PoC, do not settle. Nothing here is invented. Where the IG needs a value in the meantime, it uses a clearly named placeholder and points back to this list.
Issues inherited from IE Core keep IE Core's number (OI-0xx), so references in the copied profiles still resolve. Issues specific to this IG are numbered OI-1xx.
| ID | Topic | What is unclear | Source | Placeholder / interim handling | Owner to ask |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OI-002 | IHI format | HIQA says "18 or 10-digit". How the forms relate (legacy vs current, check digit) is not stated | EP 1.3.1 | Accept ^[0-9]{18}$ or ^[0-9]{10}$ (ie-pat-1) |
HSE (IHI Register) |
| OI-003 | Identifier system URIs | No HSE-published FHIR system URIs for IHI, PPSN, PCRS schemes, NePS or PSI. The sid/* URIs are minted under IE Core's canonical and shared by this IG |
EP 1.3, 2.6, 2.8, 3.1 | Keep IE Core's URIs, marked "placeholder" in the NamingSystem descriptions | HSE / NePS team |
| OI-004 | SNOMED CT Irish Edition module | The HSE CTS serves module 1601000220105; the Irish Edition is published in the SNOMED International browser as MAIN/SNOMEDCT-IE (release 2026-09-21). The module id should be confirmed there |
— | Use 1601000220105 |
HSE CTTO terminology team |
| OI-006 | Anomalies in the HIQA draft | "Mandatory 0..n" (EP 1.6.x.4.2/3); numbering (EP 3.6.1) | EP | Mandatory inside an optional cluster is read as "1..1 if the parent is present" | HIQA (consultation feedback) |
| OI-007 | Coded values in general | HIQA: "Coded values have not yet been specified in this standard" | EP p. 18 | Bindings chosen from recognised standards; the MDA schedule, supply legal status and PCRS scheme are experimental placeholders | HIQA |
| OI-008 | PPSN in health records | The legal basis and limits for using the PPSN as a health identifier. HIQA includes it (Required), but PPSN use is restricted by statute | EP 1.3.2 | Slice with no MustSupport | DoH / DPC / HIQA |
| OI-009 | Electronic signature format | HIQA EP 2.13 says only "electronic or digital signature". The format (e.g. AdES/JAdES), eIDAS assurance level and who verifies it are not stated | EP 2.13 | Provenance.signature with the FHIR signature-type code; no format constraint |
HSE NePS / DoH |
| OI-012 | Stricter-than-HIQA constraints | authorizingPrescription 1..1 (HIQA 6.5 Required 0..1); dosageInstruction.text 1..1 (HIQA 5.1 Optional); dispenseRequest.quantity 1..1 (HIQA 3.5.7 Required 0..1) |
IE Core ADR-003 | Kept as deliberate safety deviations | HIQA |
| OI-013 | Healthcare facility address enforcement | HIQA EP 2.9 is Mandatory, with postcode, line, county and country Mandatory. Enforcing it on the base Organization would also constrain payers and foreign organisations | EP 2.9 | MustSupport on the base; rows kept Partial | IE MPD (design, next iteration) |
| OI-014 | Exempt medication item | HIQA EP 4.11 does not say what the item is exempt from | EP 4.11 | Boolean extension, experimental | HIQA |
| OI-015 | Cross-border signature direction | HIQA EP 2.13 makes the signature a legal requirement for prescriptions issued in another EU Member State and dispensed in Ireland; the IG requires it in both directions | EP 2.13 | The cross-border Bundle requires it in both directions (ie-bnd-xb-2) |
HIQA / NePS |
| OI-017 | Dose on a medication statement | HIQA PS 6.3.9 Dose is Mandatory. Requiring it would reject "as directed" statements where only free-text dosage is known | PS 6.3.9 | dose[x] MustSupport, not 1..1; dosage.text 1..1 |
HIQA |
| OI-018 | NMPC refsets | NMPC codes are SNOMED CT Irish Extension concepts, checked in the NMPC Meds Catalogue (docs/hiqa-2026/nmpc-verification.csv). The catalogue does not show refset ids, so ValueSets for the NMPC levels (VMP, VMPP, AMP, AMPP) are not defined here |
EP 4.1, 4.3 | Medication codes bind to the Irish Edition product hierarchy | HSE CTTO / NMPC |
| OI-021 | County in addresses | address.state is a string, but the IG binds it (extensible) to a coded county ValueSet. HIQA EP 1.2 treats the county as text, so the examples raise a binding warning |
EP 1.2 | Examples use the county name (HIQA) | IE MPD |
| OI-022 | SNOMED CT Irish Edition on public terminology servers | tx.fhir.org does not host the Irish Edition, so the validator cannot check the Medication Codes ValueSet that filters on it: 1 validator error that only the HSE CTS can clear | OI-004, OI-018 | Reported as a known validator error (QA baseline) | HSE CTTO |
| OI-023 | HPRA authorisation numbers in FHIR | No FHIR code system or identifier system URI for HPRA authorisation numbers is published | EP 4.1 | Carry the number in Medication.identifier once a system is agreed |
HPRA / HSE CTTO |
| OI-027 | Controlled-drug rules HIQA leaves open | (a) The first instalment of a Schedule 2/3 instalment prescription must be dispensed within 14 days of issue: a dispensing-time check, not expressible on the MedicationRequest. (b) Whether "Number of instalments" (EP 3.5.12) is required on every Schedule 2/3/4 Part 1 prescription or only on instalment prescriptions | EP 3.5.9.1, 3.5.12 | ie-rx-cd-2 allows two months when instalments are stated; ie-rx-cd-3 requires the number of instalments for Schedule 2/3/4 Part 1 (conservative, as decided for IE Core on 24 Sept 2026) |
HIQA / Department of Health |
| OI-028 | Allergy statement at dispensing | HIQA requires the allergy statement on the prescription; it does not say whether the pharmacy must re-confirm it at dispensing | EP 1.6, 6 | Not modelled | HIQA |
| OI-030 | Health Services Provider Identifier (HSPI) | The Health Identifiers Act 2014 (s.13–14) defines one identifier type, kept in one register with Parts for individuals (A, C, D) and organisations (B, E). The Act sets no format and names no FHIR system. Whether the HSE issues individual and organisation HSPIs from one number range, the format, and the system URI(s) are not published | Health Identifiers Act 2014; HIQA health identifiers FAQ (2017) | Optional HSP-I (Practitioner) and HSP-O (Organization) slices on IE Core's placeholder systems sid/hsp-i, sid/hsp-o; no format rule |
HSE (HSPI register) / Department of Health |
| OI-101 | No HIQA dataset for administration | The HIQA EP draft stops at dispensing. Hospital and community medication administration records have no national dataset | — | IE-defined profile on base FHIR R4 (ADR-002); no HIQA claim | HIQA / HSE |
| OI-102 | Statement scope | The medication statement traces to HIQA PS 6.3, which is a Patient Summary section. Whether HIQA intends the same dataset for statements exchanged outside a Patient Summary (e.g. medicines reconciliation) is not stated | PS 6.3 | Same element mapping, carried in element comments | HIQA |
| OI-103 | Coded reasons for a dose not given | No Irish or HIQA code list for "dose not given" reasons | — | statusReason required, free text allowed |
HSE (nursing / pharmacy informatics) |
| OI-104 | Inactive SNOMED CT concept in the allergy ValueSet | The IG Publisher reports 418038007 "Propensity to adverse reactions to substance" (a filter in the Allergy Intolerance Set, copied from IE Core) as inactive. Its replacement has not been checked | IE Core ValueSets.fsh | Kept unchanged, so both IGs stay aligned; review with IE Core | IE MPD / IE Core terminology owner |